Another Mother’s Day and Birthday!

The UK celebrated Mother’s Day last Sunday. Most of our family enjoyed the Harewood House Spring Market even though it was a bit cold (Unfortunately my son had been ill all week and could not attend.) We went from craft stall to food stall and chatted with various vendors and their creative creations!

I purchased bar soap, and even hair bar soap, for the first time. We enjoyed some Italian delicious desserts and the kids blessed me with a handmade hedgehog printed bag. I love hedgehogs!

I enjoyed celebrating with various mums at church. One of the British traditions I love is receiving fresh flowers. After church we tried the nearby Dexter pub for a delicious Sunday Roast before returning home to play cards and rest.

For my birthday lunch, Ryan took me to my favourite pub…the Lord Darcy! I enjoyed delicious Hunter’s Chicken before we played scrabble. Then we drove to Harewood House Café where we parked and went on a beautiful walk where we saw many deer.

After enjoying a coffee we drove to the kids’ high school where they were assisting with the performance of Grease. They had adapted the play to be a bit more teenage friendly, yet everyone’s talents were on display. Titus was a stage hand, so we had the privilege of seeing him on stage wheeling out the tables and placing the car prop on stage for the drive-in scene. Cora helped welcome parents. Grease was a three hour performance yet the time flew by as I enjoyed laughing with Ryan and two of my mum friends. It was nice to see Cora’s and Titus’s friends onstage as well.

Tired from all the activity, we returned home to eat pavlova. Cora had graciously made it for me, since Titus was at Grease, but my 12 year old beaters died before it was complete. 😬 It wasn’t as pretty, but tasted great and I enjoyed it immensely.

I thank God extra for my lovely birthday afternoon and evening as the beginning of my day had gotten off to a rocky start. House hunting (since our landlord is selling) has been no fun (especially since we were doing so the same time last year) and we had rearranged our plans only to show up to a house viewing which wasn’t possible. Nevertheless, this made me all the more thankful for the Lord’s faithfulness! We may not have an assurance of where we are living, but I have been reassured of the love of the Lord through the blessing of many family and friends! 🥰 Thank you for each and every birthday greeting!

2 thoughts on “Another Mother’s Day and Birthday!

  1. I wanted to wish you a belated Happy Birthday. Alas in all the things demanding my time as I’m recovering from last July, many things have fallen by the way, including mailing the many cards I so enjoyed sending to important folks in my life. I seem to have very little extra time, as I’m usually in bed by 8pm and well on my way to sleep.  Please know, you are loved and I enjoyed reading about your adventures! I’m praying Titus has returned to full health as well.Much love,In His Grip & Grace,Terresa

    • Thank you, Terresa! I knew when I didn’t receive a card that you needed rest. No worries at all…I continue to feel your love across the Pond. I am praying you get the rest and recovery you need.
      Titus is much better, although tired from the school play…it’s a good tired though. 🥰Much love to you too!

Leave a comment